Maureen6002

By maureen6002

A day of relaxation

It’s a day of relaxation - staying round the hotel. Out hotel is unashamedly luxurious - beautifully maintained with possibly just a tad too much bling. Despite being centrally located in Funchal, it looks out on uninterrupted views of lush vegetation leading down to the azure sea. There is a huge free-form pool surrounded by gardens, and a rooftop infinity pool just for adults - our favourite location. 

The sister property is just below, and has the luxury of a ‘beachside’ area where we head today just for a change. There are, of course, no beaches here, just rock platforms by the sea - and here there is the benefit of a cooling sea breeze. 

Of course, our holidays are normally far more active and adventurous, but for now this is just what we both need. I do, however, find myself in a strange situation.  I can neither swim nor sunbathe - although in fairness, ‘sunbathing’ is a thing of the past anyway; rather it’s a case of lying in the shade, reading, but in my case, having a catheter means I lie there legs covered in trousers or a long dress, seemingly completely overdressed for the occasion! 

There are indulgences of ice cold beer - non alcoholic for me - and ice cream; then in the evening, there’s a delicious poolside meal to round off the day. I even treat myself to a small glass of sparkling wine - and live to tell the tale. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.