Everyday Life

By Julez

Monday!

Much time got wasted today! I made the (Rare these days...) mistake of checking Facebook at breakfast and fell down a rabbit hole. Fun, but it wasted a bunch of time. Eventually I got on with some of the things I needed to do. 

One of these was getting post ready for sending and taking it to the post office. The instant the door closed behind me I realised I had not picked up my key! I was locked out! this meant I had to hike up to Jewson's as I'd also not taken my phone - even if I had, I still would have had to walk - Brian was on his own at work and could not go out. 

Once I was back I just had time to eat a sandwich bought in the Co-op then go up to visit my Dad. He was in bed asleep when I got there but he woke up when one of the carers brought a yogurt in for him.

He gave me a shopping list of food he wanted me to get for him. The amount of food I have to take in he should get a reduction on whatever they decide to charge - still have not heard anything back about that, no news is good news!

Visiting him these days is rather stressful. He is unhappy at his situation, how fast his health has deteriorated and how unpleasant the food is in the home. I understand that but there is little I can do to help or change any of it. Anything he asks for that is in my power to deliver I will, but there is nothing I can do about his health issues or some of the other issues. The home staff do the best they can but there are a lot of other  residents too and they are not always immediately responsive to non-urgent calls. I feel quite powerless really...

Anyway! On the way to Morrison's I bought a takeaway coffee as I'd not had time for one at lunchtime, and drank it on the way. I took this photo while I was waiting for Brian to arrive - I've always liked the weather vane! 

This is of course another phone shot! My camera does not work any more. I've acquired a new-to-me Lumix and want to start getting to know it tomorrow, so hopefully I will be blipping a photo taken with it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.