Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

CORED/CORE/CORER You can't go wrong with a Spong

The Mono Monday theme today is "cord/cored/chord". Thanks to libeccio for hosting.  I've gone with cored.  The apple corer is an old one - it belonged to my husbands mother.  The maker is Spong. ( See Extra for a close up of the mark on the back of the corer ) I decided to find out some info about Spong .

James Osborn Spong (1839 - 1925) - was a prolific inventor. He patented and manufactured the famous Spong food mincer and bean slicer when he was only 16 years old.  The range of Spong labour-saving gadgets and utensils graced many Victorian and Edwardian households with more and more gadgets coming onto the market well into the 20th century.  Spong revolutionised the domestic economy amongst the emerging middle-class families, who were unable to afford numerous household servants like the upper classes. All household chores, often in the kitchen – and mostly carried out by women - were laborious, time-consuming and done by hand. A Spong device became an obligatory piece of kitchenware until the development of electrical equipment. The unusual name was one to remember  " You can’t go wrong with a Spong "  said the adverts in the 1950s making it a brand name still known to many people today.

I walked down to the village this afternoon.  Did some food shopping and collected a parcel in Tesco.  Was supposed to get two parcels but one has " gone missing ".  I had an e mail to say it was at Tesco for collection but it isn't showing up on their system.  The seller is going to contact Evri. 

When I arrived home I found a parcel on my driveway ... again.  This one was delivered by DX Express.  I had already advised them to leave it in my " Safe Place" but they ignored that instruction.

On a positive note I tried again to do an order with Superdrug - chose exactly the same things I did last time ... and this time its gone through OK.

Steps today - 6,628

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.