Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Soup, shrubs and sunshine

More mixed weather - intermittent showers throughout the day. I took the opportunity of making some more runner bean soup this morning. This time I added a few more veggies - potatoes, carrots and peppers, some mint and a bit of cream. I'll try it out for lunch tomorrow!

I was hoping for a dry afternoon as it's our day for Dunollie and I still have a few markers to put out to indicate planting spots for shrubs and trees. Most of the shrubs have now been planted - my Blip today - with maybe a dozen to go. Caroline the gardener is making up tree guards to protect them as she plants as roe deer roam the garden.

Unfortunately as soon as we arrived it began to rain, but I got the canes out and off-loaded another couple of rhododendrons and four cordylines from my collection - I've no hope of planting them in my garden. At least they'll have room to grow at Dunollie. 

Had a nice chat with two ladies from Massachusetts and came home just as the sun came out! Typical! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.