talloplanic views

By Arell

Craning for a view

Well, that was a pretty unproductive day visiting Leith again.  My laptop refused to boot up, and it turned out I was starting the day with a completely flat battery.  With great skill I had also forgotten to take my charger with me.  I have a spare charger of course, but it's in the office, which was miles away and not where I was working, and I had no time to travel and return before my first meeting.  The only reason I wasn't working from home, and indeed the only reason I would've felt compelled to return from said office was in order to meet a colleague for lunch – and then I found out they'd had to cancel anyway.

In fact, it was a pretty unproductive commute too.  I was cheerfully scything my way into town – insofar as you can hustle a 300kg Pan Euro – chasing a rather capable maxi-scooter rider through the morning traffic jams, and was almost in the city centre before I realised I was supposed to be commuting, and I was going the wrong way entirely.  With further great skill I reconfigured my route back out of town to take in all of the road works I could find and thus delay my arrival yet further.

I had a nice extended ride home, though, and then spent an hour slopping another coat of wood preserver on the 'bench base, and wondering if I can cut inch-wide dovetails with the old Arcoy jig.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.