talloplanic views

By Arell

Stay on this channel!

Much too long at work again today.  In the end I was just too tired to try to finish my last task, so gave up and turned the laptop off.  It was pouring with rain so no DIY – but the wood preserver seems to be pretty rainproof.

I was having a quiet evening of recorder music, and thinking that I really, really must pull my finger out and practice more on the alto.  After watching a lovely interview with composer Richard Harvey I discovered that it was none other than he who wrote the music and indeed the theme tune to Terrahawks!  And what a brilliant theme tune that was.  It's futuristic, synthy and bouncy, kind of Star Wars meets Dallas, and yet if you listen closely, you find it too is imbued with the spirit of his medieval and renaissance background.  Harvey of course was one of the founding members of Gryphon in the 1970s, did the first few albums where he played the absolute heck out of his recorders (and Minimoog) and then went off to travel the world, collect instruments, write film scores, appear on Classic FM now and again, and be generally amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.