talloplanic views

By Arell

The Glob

It was still raining this evening so no outdoor DIY.  I decided to get damp instead doing the shopping run to the supermarket, opting for the one a bit further away than the one that is in cartropolis, just to get a few more miles in and be amongst the trees again.

On the way back I thought I saw a pingpong ball stuck in a tree and went back for a closer look. Then I thought a pingpong ball was a stupid possibility and it was probably just the stump of a branch that had been sawn off; as I got closer again I thought it was, however peculiar, a Common Earthball growing on the tree trunk.  Truth is stranger than fiction as they say.  Whatever this fungus is, it was firm to the touch, and definitely not a puffball – golfball maybe!  There were four larger growths near the base of the tree, a little less round, a little more brackety.  I have never seen a fungus like this before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.