Look Out

By chrisf

Connections

There was a bit of a photoshoot going on as I passed a group on the bridge, so I turned around and took a quick pic. I’ve always liked this view.

The Lowry footbridge connecting the Trafford and Salford banks of the Manchester Ship Canal. I was heading to make a connection myself - a coffee and chat with a friend who chairs a charitable trust, we’re both founding trustees of an organisation now in its 25th year. There’ll be a celebration soon which I can’t attend, I have to avoid situations where I might bring home an infection, so he suggested a safer option. It worked well.

When I started blipping over nine years ago now I regularly featured Salford Quays in my daily blips as I was often here for work purposes. I was part of the team that made the place happen, its creation took a lot of vision and hard work on the part of Salford City Council and its partners. Partnership (which is all about connections and trust) is perhaps an overused word, but without that and a lot of vision and stamina this huge regeneration project wouldn’t have got off the ground. Salford City Council is of the best local authorities in the country in my humble opinion, I’m glad I worked there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.