Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Incoming!

What an amazing day! The main reason for our trip to Mull was because I had decided I wanted to do a boat trip to see White-tailed Sea Eagles before the sailings stopped at the end of October. The weather has been deteriorating since we got here and I was quite sure that today's trip would have to be cancelled. I had to phone the day before to check and get the sailing time and when I phoned yesterday morning I was pleased to hear that the start would be at midday to allow the worst of the weather to pass through. 

Last night's heavy rain continued into the morning but slowed by mid morning. My trip was a photo trip which costs more but means only six people are on board making it easier to ensure everyone gets a good view. I drove to Ulva ferry and met the others, all of whom had done the trip before. It was good to get advice on various aspects before we set off. 

When that eagle flies in it's a magnificent sight, getting the bird in the frame is a challenge and then tracking it as the boat goes up and down challenges you even further! I'm pleased to have got a few good shots and I'm sure there will be a few more to be found when I look again. As I walked back to the car it started to rain and it rained heavily all the way home.

Today is the Wide on Wednesday challenge, hosted by BobsBlips and the theme for this week is 'Low Angle'. Imagine looking up and seeing this huge bird with an 8 foot wing span (2.45 metres) swooping down. Fortunately he wasn't going for me but a fish that had been thrown out about 15 feet from the boat. I've added a couple more as extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.