Living my dream

By Mima

Stuck

I heat sealed this jar of Black Peaches so efficiently in the autumn that I had to take it to my workshop and use workshoppy tools to open it. 

For the first time ever, the tried and tested method of heating up the top then using grippy rubber mats top and bottom, didn’t work.

It took me 15 minutes with plumbing pliers and some brute force to loosen the lid. And as you can tell I rewarded myself with a wee bowl of the contents. 

It’s been a beautiful warm sunny day. Just the day for some hard labour! I spent the morning in G’s garden shifting barrows of compost and then huge slabs of pea straw mulch. 

Having arrived home grubby and sticky it made sense to keep going and then stop for a shower and clean clothes. So I cleaned out the chook coops, spending ages digging out the poo-strewn ground under the roosting poles; then emptying, scrubbing and refilling the nesting boxes which will be home to the new girls.

Doubly dirty and sweaty, it was utterly luxurious to stand under the shower afterwards.

I come to you sparkling clean and smelling delightful.

Bean says so anyway…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.