My day

By 59

Car races

…are on in Bathurst each October. They say it brings in many millions of dollars to the economy. Many local residents hunker down and wait for all the hoo haa to die down next week. This was seen at the local library. 

I got out two books last week which I finished and today swapped them for 4 new ones. One was published last month on The Voice Referendum with the history of Federation, Colonisation, our Constitution etc. we really didn’t learn a lot about Australian history at school so it is opening my mind. Wow, I knew they were racist in the old days but am not believing what I’m reading. 

As I was walking down past a dress shop I met an old boss of mine who I haven’t seen for ages. She seemed pleased to have a chat. She and her daughter own the shop which she started up after leaving work. She employed me for a 3 month contract originally and I stayed there for 15 years, she was amazed. 

We had the wettest day all year here yesterday. Today it is sunny and dry but cold. I bet many visitors to town for the races are shopping for warm merchandise. We can hear the cars from here, practising or in early races. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.