Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Golden

The only sign of autumn around me is that the bracken is turning brown. The warm September seems to have delayed autumn, the trees are still green and usually by now the woods are full of interesting fungi, but today I went searching for fungi and found very little. I liked the light on this bracken, turning it golden.

I went grocery shopping which meant I had to go to the next village of Esher while our Waitrose is closed for renovations - it opens tomorrow thank goodness, as I really don't like the Esher branch it has a strange layout.

This afternoon I baked some crunchies for Tommy and Gavin. Crunchies are a popular South African tray bake, made from oats, coconut and flour, then cut into squares, similar to a Flapjack but these are crunchy (hence the name). I believe they are also similar to Anzac biscuits.

The weekend is looking warm again, with temperatures of 24C which is quite unseasonal for October. These days we just never know what to expect with the weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.