Marionb

By Marionb

Not Another Sunrise....

..it fizzled....

 I had gone down to the lake  to capture some fiery sky photos, but the sunrise turned out to be totally blah; in fact it was so blah, that it was difficult to tell where the horizon was!  The sky and water just blended into one.  I do not jest.

Of course a trip to the lake is never a total loss...there is always something...and at this time of year, there is colour on shore.

The rest of the day was filled with the routines of autumn. Mark, the friendly furnace fellow, dropped by for my Annual Fall Furnace Check-up.. and left behind some helpful hints to encourage me to take better care of my furnace and AC..Who knew what dire things can happen if one does not baby one's furnace? As a starter, I promised that I would change the filter more often and would try to remember to put a bit of bleach into that weird box on the side of the furnace every now and then.He was pleased. But, when I promised that yes, I would get out my garden hose and attack the dirt in my outdoor AC unit, he didn't look convinced....smart fellow.....but he went away happy, having my VISA card number in hand....

Then there was the delving into the storage under the stairs to find more autumn decor. My friend Mary from down east arrives tomorrow for a visit and I wanted the house to look all very Autumn Harvest...The search took longer than expected as I expected to find more of what I expected!  I knew I had lots last year..but then, I remembered...Drat! I did some decluttering last year and that darned article I read on decluttering said that no-one needs more than 3 pumpkins... What was I thinking? So here I am with only 3...and so many surfaces yet to cover..I may have to go out and buy some real ones! 

The day ended with menu planning ...for actual meals.. meals eaten at the dining room table.....not in front of the TV. Having guests really messes up my routines! But it will be so great to have company for a change, and lots of time to visit with my best friend of many many years...

The grocery shopping list is ready for tomorrow....let the hosting, cooking and table-setting begin...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.