pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Family!

My morning was a normal Thursday, although my shopping was a particularly big one. I had a 10% discount code for Lidl, so did a monthly shop of all non perishables I would need for the month. Then singing followed, before heading home to put away the shopping mountain.

Mum and I had visitors this afternoon. Mum's cousin Barry and his lovely wife Judith are on holiday in Norfolk, so I had arranged for them to visit. I had never met them before, and mum can't remember meeting them. Certainly not in recent years, and as children they did not grow up living close to each other. But that didn't matter today. We felt at ease together; like family we have known for ever. I think we could have chatted all night! We looked at old family photos together, although mum doesn't have many of her parents. There was a group photo at mum and dad's wedding where Barry was able to pick out his parents, and a couple of others. We talked about the family tree, and Barry gave me a copy of the tree his dad had started. I'm inspired to push on with more delving with this branch now.

We had coffee, tea and nibbles, and the hours flew. All too soon it was time for our guests to depart. The Norfolk lanes are not somewhere any of us like driving in the dark, let alone those not from the area. So we said our goodbyes in plenty of time for them to make the journey back to their accommodation during the daylight. It was such a lovely visit, so we do hope to see them again.

I finished putting away the shopping, and prepared the dinner with Mollie.

Feeling tired so sat watching TV with mum while Jon concentrated on the new NC500 map which arrived in the post yesterday. It has lots more info on it, which is a help to plan where they will stop for the scenic bits of the trip. It is all coming together. Under a week to go now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.