paperTIGER

By papertiger

Gum.

The past is never where you think you left it.

-- Katherine Anne Porter


I am a child of the 80's and today my past was at the co-op checkout in the form of some 'Seriously Strawberry' flavoured Hubba Bubba bubblegum!

Throwback moment!

I wasn't really allowed bubble or chewing gum when I was a kid, so I devised a way of having it in secret (Sneaky ... shhhh!) I got one of those plastic tubs Christmas Puddings come in and I made an Art Project of it ... Yes, an ''Art Project'' ... by covering it in polystyrene and cotton wool and turning it magically in to an igloo for something I just had to make for school. I seem to remember creating an entire display to disguise it too ... Why are you laughing? ... Then I hid all my Wrigley's goodness inside the upturned lid. Genius!

It made perfect sense to me (at the time).

Now I can't see what all the fuss was about. It's pretty icky.

To this day, I genuinely don't think my mum had a clue what I was up to. But then, that was about as naughty as I got, so she was pretty lucky I think.

Oh, memories!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.