Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

We drove to a crag at Salem, Valencia this morning as the guidebook said it would be in the shade. It was, but the approach wasn't very friendly with steep, loose gravel, rocks and many prickly plants to be negotiated, but we reached the right area eventually. 

Fi asked if I wanted to lead first and the route (a 4a) looked okay from the ground but, having clipped the first two bolts I was struggling to get past what was obviously the crux. I had several tries... but it was a no go for me so I got lowered down. I thought Fi would be able to do it with little bother, but that was not the case so I lowered her. She attempted another 4a to the left, but after clipping the first bolt had a lot of trouble getting to the second. She fell off several times, which I caught, but she's nothing if not determined. But after the second bolt she could make no further progress and ended up putting a mallion through the hanger so that we didn't lose a quickdraw. 

Next Fi led another 4a around the corner which was much more like that grade should be, and we both enjoyed it. But the next 4a was awful and Fi struggled, eventually using the lower-off for the previous route.

We'd had enough, and went back to the car, stopping for coffee in Salem village before calling at Decathlon for a couple more mallions on the way back to the hotel.

Here is Fi just before she started packing up, I liked the light and the climbing paraphernalia around her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.