Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Fi had booked a guide for today as she wanted to climb a route on the Peñon and it had been decided that they would do Via Valencianos 5c** Fi had asked me if I fancied it, and of course the guide could've taken both of us up it, but I had no desire at all to do it!

So instead of climbing it, I walked up and had a seagull for company at the summit, obviously waiting for lunch along with the rest of the flock. I didn't oblige, I had my lunch when I detoured to the Mirador de Carabineros and all the gulls were flying out to sea.

The limestone path was very polished on the last section to the summit, but I'd worn my Scarpas and didn't have a problem apart from the bits that were wet. Going down was slightly more tricky though! As ever a lot of people were in their fashion trainers, which are useless when the ground gets tricky. One young man was even wearing sliders!

I only missed Fi and the guide at the summit by about 30 minutes, they did the route quite quickly.  Fi had a fantastic day, see extra for a shot of her halfway up, and I did too!

Looking through the guidebook this evening we think we've found a venue for tomorrow that gets no sun... sounds good to us!

5.14 miles
1,125 ft elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.