talloplanic views

By Arell

Cut price

Something I should have bought ages ago was this pack of Forstner bits.  I've been making do with spade bits for ever, but they tend to wander, they're rarely perfectly straight, and sometimes they're just too long.  The workbench will receive a bunch of holes for dogs and the 20mm bit will be just fine.  Benjamin Forstner patented his fancy drill bit in 1886 and made an absolute fortune.

This pack however was Definitely Not Expensive.  A variation on the "buy cheap, buy twice" adage was from my friend Kim, who said "buy the cheap one first, and if you use it enough to break it or wear it out, buy the expensive one.  This is a good rule of thumb.

It has rained almost non-stop for about 24 hours.  There was a brief break when it turned to drizzle, so I escaped and cycled to Mum and Dad's for tea.  Not to be outdone, it was torrential drizzle when I cycled home again, but my waterproof cap has seen it all before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.