JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Morning in the garden room

I love coming down in the morning to bright sun through the window and crisp shadows on the walls and floors. I took a few quick photos, knowing it was going to be a busy day. I enjoyed my online yoga class, and my post-yoga coffee and toasted bagel; I was glad to be outside in the sun for a while, dealing with compost and picking raspberries. I supported J with her two online events, a zoom open mic night for disabled writers and singers and the next in the series of Cardiff Animation Nights' online short animation programmes, which began during lockdown but to J's delight have continued occasionally since their return to in-person events. These are live-streamed on YouTube, with the opportunity to comment and interact in the chat, and are always interesting and inspiring, with many styles, themes and techniques represented. We followed this with our Thursday movie night, and watched The Farewell, a 2019 Chinese-American family comedy about a family which conceals their grandmother's terminal diagnosis from her, while arranging a family gathering in China for them all to see her before she dies. The acting was excellent, with a good balance of pathos and humour. It's currently streaming in Channel 4 in the UK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.