The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The extra from yesterday

...that I forgot to put up. It's my teacher's day card from my student S. Teachers' day in Afghanistan is celebrated on 5 October. Great idea!

I was on vaccination check-in duty from 7.45 today to 12.15, today was flu and CoVid jabs at the Town Surgery. We were so busy that the time passed quickly. After rushing to the library to collect a book, I caught a bus to Cheltenham.

Friend D and I saw the matinee, at the Everyman Theatre, of the Agatha Christie novel And Then there Were None. I'd begun to regret buying tickets (because it was a lovely afternoon) but I needed have worried. The performance was excellent, and I enjoyed the set and the use of lighting and sea-themed simple coloured lines to indicate times of day and the island location. The ending was a little too startling for me, but I was glad we went.

Coffee at Nero afterwards, then bus again (chatting with S in What'sApp about news from Afghanistan and Iran (earthquake near Herat, and forceful ejection of Afghani people from their houses in Iran). Then V.rang me and wanted to chat, so I talked to her for ages, all the way home and beyond, about something that has upset her deeply.

CleanSteve told me about some atrocities on an unprecedented scale by Hamas in Palestine. I couldn't face watching the news so I lurked around till CS had made supper (simple food!) and then we watched the rugby. Ireland defeated Scotland whole heatedly. I was not fully engaged.

Then I watched a documentary about 1976,: and was surprised that I didn't remember much about the major events of that year. (To put  this in context, I was twelve: we lived in the West Highlands of Scotland, and we'd only just got a small black and white television).

Now I think it's more that time to go to bed. I apologize that I just did not have time to take another shot today.

On the plus side, Christmas is sorted. Volunteering for me and CS, and for S and V, at the Trinity Rooms. Carols around the piano, dinner, and a great relief that I don't even have to think about what to cook!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.