There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Early Morning Rain / Dancing Girls: Locomotion!

At sunrise everything is luminous but not clear. It is those we live with and love and should know who elude us. You can love completely without complete understanding. - Norman Maclean, A River Runs Through It and Other Stories.

My early morning walk took me up Tow Hill in a light drizzle. Of course, I had my pink umbrella and my camera and my blue tunes box. Autumn rain brings its own special blessings: the foliage colors were luminous in the light rain. Above is one of my favorite quotes about "luminous." :-)

In other news, temperatures around here are falling. The fuchsia plant on the front porch is just loaded with Dancing Girls, and a whole group of them jumped off their plant and banged at the front door until I invited them in. Their toes were chilly, or so they said. And so in they came, and we had some fun adventures!

Dancing Girls - yes, those are fuchsia blooms - love to get around by any conveyance necessary. So they found several vehicles and took them for a spin. (Yes, that IS a 1953 cotton candy pink Cadillac.) Please enjoy this adventure of the Dancing Girls before the first frost takes them away for good!

I have two photos, and so here are two songs. First, here are Peter, Paul, and Mary, with Early Morning Rain in 1966 (viewer comment: Every single note and word is treated as if it were a precious fragile treasure). Second, here is Little Eva, with Locomotion from 1962. Here's a bonus version by Kylie Minogue from 1987.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.