There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

There's a Groovy New Bridge in the Barrens!

It was a chilly morning, as my husband and I walked up Tow Hill to the Scotia Barrens, where he jogged and I walked. I was heading for one of my favorite beaver ponds, when I caught sight of fresh new wood to my left. What was this? A BRIDGE? Somebody put in a brand new bridge!

I tried to visually identify how to get to it, as there are trails there still that even I have not walked. So I backtracked a bit, practically slid down a steep hill, and there I was at the bridge.

The bridge itself is on the small side, not much wider than my two feet side by side. It has few supports into the muck, so I admit to some curiosity as to how well it will stand up to conditions once we get our first freeze. I could see someone hitting that frozen bridge: Slickety-boom! Down ya go!

But here's the deal: this new bridge gives me access to views from the middle of the beaver pond that I've never had before. ACCESS! I have ACCESS! Hooray for the bridge! Hooray for new access to old areas and better views in the Barrens!

Here's my song, as you might already have already guessed:   :-)  Simon and Garfunkel, with the 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy).

Slow down, you move too fast
You got to make the morning last
Just kicking down the cobblestones
Looking for fun and feeling groovy
Ba da-da da-da da-da, feeling groovy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.