There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Great Yellow Caterpillar Rescue

Bonjour! Good day! I said to the yellow caterpillar that met me on my morning walk. But oh no, it was heading for the road. Actually, it was ON the road! And I did not want it to get squashed. So - knowing that the fuzzy ones can sometimes be ouchy - I picked up a big leaf, scooped my little friend up, and without touching it with my hands, moved it to the other side of the road. Just like you do with turtles, I moved it into the direction in which it was heading. 

Oh, it wasn't so big as one of my biggest rescues - I guess I'd count a rattlesnake as my top rescue from the road, with a pair of sticks, quite a few years back; and with the snapping turtle rescue right up there, too. But it was a fine and pleasant rescue just the same. At the end of it, the yellow fellow did not seem to want to leave its leaf. Doesn't it look like the very definition of "snug as a bug in a rug"?  So here it sits, all curled up, relaxing until it's ready to resume its autumn stroll.

I couldn't decide which of these songs to use so here they both are: Donovan, with Mellow Yellow; and Fontella Bass, with Rescue Me. Oh, I'm just mad about saffron. . . . saffron's mad about meeeeeeeee. . . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.