Fiorghra

By Fiorghra

Pool day!

Not a very good picture, I know - but this is what our local outdoor swimming pool looks like for Duke University students and employees (my mom and stepdad work for Duke). I haven't gone swimming in months - but finally got to get out now that the pool is open and the water is warmer.

Today I swam 1/3rd of a mile non stop, which got my heart rate up mildly. I remember my swim coach in high school used to say that long distance swimming should feel like walking. Once you find your breathing rhythm and stroke pace, and if your cardio respiratory system is at a decent level of fitness, then this is true. I'm a little out of shape but not too bad. So by 10 laps in, I had found my pace and it did indeed feel as comfortable as walking.

Plus then I got to lay out in the sun and ohhhh did that feel good. I didn't burn even though the UV was at level 9. I put some sunscreen on but mostly just my skin got tanner and my freckles came out even more. I have more freckles than ever before. As a redhead, I'm not all that freckly and I do in fact tan but not to the same degree as some.

Overall was nice to spend my afternoon out in the sun away from research and my computer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.