Bom

By Bom

'Little Blue' Arriving

Another morning on the railway. I walked to and from the station today, even thought it's called Holt station, it's nearer High Kelling and a 25 min walk from my house (feeling warm at 21.5C). One of the steam trains due to run today had a fault, so I didn't travel on a steam engine unfortunately, but I did get this photo of 'Little Blue' arriving at Weybourne. I've also attached a collage in Extras of views inside signal boxes, plus a photo of Freddie, a border collie railway volunteer who stays with his owner when he's working in the signal box. I had a nice chat with his owner, who was explaining how he got Freddie used to the sights and sounds of the railway - an incredibly well trained and obedient dog. I had a bacon butty on the train back from Sheringham and very nice it was too. 

At Holt I had a look round the newly acquired signal box, although it was full of 'anoraks', so I didn't get to see or hear much. I had a quick look at some info about a big project called HIVE - standing for Holt Interactive Visitor Experience, which will transform the Holt station site. I've read separately that it's a very ambitious project to bring together 'learning, museum, entertainment, retail and catering under one roof.' It's estimated to cost £3M and will hopefully bring in more visitors and extend the season. They have hopes to raise the funds and have it ready for Sept 2025, which is the 200th anniversary of railways in the UK (and the World). Back home I managed to get washing done, dried and ironed too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.