Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Surprise!

To my total surprise, a hummingbird showed up today.  I was outside trying to get some shots of a small group of Ruby-Crowned Kinglets when I heard that distinctive buzz that only a hummer can make.  In shock, I watched as it zoomed past me.  A short while later I saw it again, so then I knew I needed to try to get some shots.  Now, let me tell you that it's cool and breezy out there today so not the ideal weather for crouching and waiting.  But my slight discomfort was worth it because she came back several times to b both feeders.  This sets an all time record for latest sighting for me.

I will try for a Kinglet tomorrow - they are hard birds to photograph because they never seem to stay still for even a moment as they dart around in shrubs and the lower branches of trees gleaning insects.  There are a lot of them moving through right now so my chances to get one are reasonably good.

My last 7 monarchs are emerging today - actually one emerged yesterday.  It's too cold to release them now so I will hope for better conditions tomorrow.  I think that brings me to 36 for the season.  The numbers of monarchs who made it to my garden was definitely much lower than usual.   IIn general, all of our butterfly numbers seemed low this summer.  

We are meeting some friends for dinner tonight which will be fun.  We haven't seen them since before MIL passed away - not sure how so much time got away from us, but here we are.  

Had a very enjoyable FT with my parents this morning.  After we got off the call, they were heading out for a walk, enjoying the last warm, sunny day before cooler, damper weather arrives es tomorrow.  

I've already had my dark for the day - stayed with plain, decadent dark.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.