Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Passing through

I was somewhat surprised when I glanced out and saw a Gray Catbird on the deck.  Although they aren't truly long distance migrants, they do not typically overwinter this far north and usually by this time most of them have moved south.  That said, in is not unheard of to find a catbird here in a mild winter.  Still, nice to see one and nicer still that he let me get close enough for a decent shot.  They are lovely birds, closely related to mockingbirds and thrashers.

Hubs created some breakfast magic this morning with tarragon scrambled eggs with sides of melon and fresh avocado.  Afterwards, Hubs and my Dad went into the "man cave" to work on the Camaro.  Hubs has been trying to troubleshoot a problem with the car's windshield wipers for months without success.  And for several hours, my dad was stumped too - but them they figured it all out, so yay! And while the men were busy doing  manly stuff, mom and I took Jax for a nice walk on the Lane

After lunch we loaded Jax into the car and made a Starbucks run.  Pic of Jax in Extra as we were in the drive through.  Its so funny to see his reaction when he realizes where we are.  

The weather has taken a turn and it's now only in the mid=50's, requiring a light jacket or fleece outside.  At least we had two warm, sunny days while my parents are here.  Tonight we have a frost warning, which may mean the zinnias will get zapped.  We'll see.  

I think maybe dark with blood orange later.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.