Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ichneuman Wasp

It's been a good day - I met up with some birder friends for a 2.5 mile walk this morning and we logged 30 species of birds along with a lot of enjoyable conversation.  I look forward to seeing them all again when I am back from Columbia (I know - I just love saying this!)

Back at home, I took my macro lens out to the garden to see if I could spot anything interesting.  The first thing I found was a wee jumping spider attempting to subdue a daddy-longlegs (harvestman).  I thought for sure it would be my blip because I can rarely resist a jumper.  But then, as I was sitting next to the buddleia trying to get some looks at a honey bee, I saw motion.  I did what any good blipper would do and crouched on the ground, peering intently at the area where I'd seen movement, lens at the ready.  And there it was!  This tiny wasp is barely 1cm (1/4 inch) and they rarely stay still.  So the fact that I was able to get several usable shots was very pleasing.

As best I can tell, this is in the Genus Arotes and I believe it is a male.  They belong to the Ichneumonidae Family, a huge family of parasitoid wasps.  I believe this particular genus uses various beetle species as its larval host, although I'm not certain.  Interestingly, almost none of the thousands of ichneumon species are capable of stinging, even though they have long ovipositors that look quite menacing.  Anyway, I thought this attractive little wasp was perfect for today's blip.  


And, if you want to see my cute little jumper wearing a guilty look and with a whiff of spider on his breath, click HERE

My pile of things to pack is growing.  I am determined, however, that I will not take an enormous piece of luggage with me.  So, we'll see how that all works out.  

Excited to see the puppy again tomorrow and have Hubs meet him.  And happy to report that the adorable black lab mix I posted a shot of a few days ago has already been adopted, along with its remaining sibling.  

Dark with almonds today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.