Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

With a dash of yellow

The first Yellow Rumped Warbler of the season, perched rather perfectly with a little patch of fall leaves in the back, creating a nice bokeh.  These perky little birds have a brilliant yellow patch just above their tails (on the rump, of course) which is visible when perched and brilliant when in flight.  In the spring, the males are brilliantly colored, but even in their non-breeding plumage, I think they look lovely.

Birds in the garden are definitely increasing now that the temperatures have dropped. Nice to see chickadees, titmice and nuthatches coming to the feeder in a steady stream.  The lovely little hummingbird from yesterday was still here this morning but I think she's gone now as I haven't seen her in several hours.  Glad she was able to refuel in our garden.  There were even a couple of ravens flying overhead, making their raspy calls as they drifted by.  We never used to see/hear ravens here but in recent years, their numbers have increased and they are becoming more common.  

I released 5 monarchs today even though the temperatures were borderline.  I took their container out and put it in a sunny spot and soon enough they were clamoring to get out so I opened the door and let them go.  I saw a couple of them feeding on the zinnias about an hour later.  There is one more butterfly still in the container - she's not ready to leave just yet so we'll try tomorrow.  The 7th chrysalid failed, unfortunately.  

Went over to the lab this morning to get blood drawn in preparation for my visit with the Rheumatologist next week.  Very curious to get the results which should be in my portal in a couple of days.  Still having mild to moderate pain most days so thinking the doc may adjust the dosage if my blood work supports it.  

Dark with raspberries today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.