Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Boo!

Generally speaking, Yellowjacket wasps aren't creatures that rely on camouflage coloration to stay safe.  In fact, their bright yellow and black markings make them quite noticeable and broadcast a loud message to would-be predators that they aren't safe to eat.  So the fact that I didn't see this one lurking on the zinnia was surprising.  It was cold and he wasn't moving fast but I still kept my distance and shot this with a 300mm lens. 

This is a German Yellowjacket (Vespula Germanica), an invasive species that is particular notable for their aggression when they are defending the nest.  This time of year, the nests are done for year, the founding Queen's have died, next year's Queens are ready to layup for the winter and the workers, like this one, have nothing at all to do other than eat sugary things.    I'll be honest - I don't care for these wasps.  They are mean and it really hurts when they sting, which they can do repeatedly.,  However, I think they are fascinating to look at, especially the face.  So worthy of a blip today.  And an addition to my Yard Bugs record for this year.  

Hubs and I picked up our neighbor at his farm and went to look at trees this afternoon.  John and his wife wanted to plant a tree in memory of Hubs' mom - this is something they do in their own family to mark deaths and births, a wonderful tradition I think.  Anyway, we picked out a lovely Redbud tree which we'll go pick up in a week or so.  I'm humbled to have friends like this.  

I released my last two monarchs today (see Extra) and decided that one would go in memory of the Israelis who died this week while the other would go for the Palestinians who died.  It's hard to fathom what is going on in Israel right now. 

Dark with ginger today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.