pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

A relaxing day?

Well that was the plan, but actually I have only just sat down, at 7pm! Jon and all 3 kids went to archery first thing, and I prepared dinner. Mum came and sat with us although I was all over the place foing jobs do she didn't get much attention! She was happy enough with her ipad in my conservatory, and a different view!

Jon went to Tesco after coffee to do the food shopping for the week away. Then packed the rest of his bits - he has a lot of lists!!

We went to Aylmerton after dinner to do some gardening at David's. Just an hour of tidying and filling the brown bin.

Back home and Jon wanted a bag for his dustbin lid fire to go in. It is being packed for the trip, along with the tripod, so I got the sewing machine out and upcycled a piece of light canvas, to make a drawstring bag. Then i used the rest of the material to renew the fabric on the garden umbrella. The old bit I took off the frame months ago with the intention of doing this, so very had to have another job ticked off the list.

As it was starting to get dark I headed into my shed. It desperately needs dorting out. I dumped and decluttered a tiny bit, but also wanted to try and propagate broken pieces of my string of turtles plant. It is not happy at all, and I spent the morning reading up about shat I should be doing with it. Basically our house is too cold and dark for it. But I've put the broken off pieces in some pots and am now crossing my fingers. I also potted up, 4 cuttings of a big white hydrangea I'd taken about 6 weeks ago. Pleased that all 4 took as I tried the same one last year, with no luck. The plant is at the other end of the village at the front of someone's drive, so I had to be quick and sneaky. The original plant wasn't harmed!

The shed is still very much in need of clearing, but I've started. More in 2 weekends time.

So, to the NC500 - Jon has downloaded an app which is by the company he bought the map from. It looks really good, and I am going to download it. Then i can follow their progress, and if you download it, you can too. There are 3 bags of food in the kitchen, ready to go in the car, and various other piles of bits dotted about, including the bin lid in its new bag. We were so pleased to hear that Andy hit the 'summit' of Skafell, this afternoon, with family all around him. A challenge for someone with full health let alone someone battling a brain tumour. He really is an inspiration, and no doubt will keep Jon and Martin on their toes in Scotland!

Now Strictly results...and we are definitely having an early night tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.