pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Bike work

A pretty unproductive work day, made up mostly by a meeting where we were told about a load of processes we need to put on hold. Perfectly normal in local government pensions, and extremely frustrating. I'm not sure how many more years I can face. 2 I'm thinking, tops.

Went to Sheringham at lunchtime for the bank and to tesco for my passport photo. Something I've been promising to do for months, but it runs out early November so now I must get it sorted. It took 6 goes to get one that passed the tests. It is ghastly, but I don't care. I clearly must look like that!! In 10 years time when I'm approaching 68 I'll probably like it then!!

Dan arrived for an evening of working on motorbikes with Henry. We have an ongoing challenge to free the pistons in the C11 which sat for 30 years without oil. They are determined to do it - but I think it needs to come apart. Nice to see them working together on it, and Google has ideas for them to try.

So NC500 planning continues, and Jon has finished last bits of shopping today, and filled his car with petrol, ready for the first bit of the journey. As I type he is still looking at the best bits to visit, but it's his last evening here. I'm sure when they are there, it will all come together.

So 2 blips ago I took you to Scourie where they will spend Saturday night. From there, on Sunday, they will drive 122 miles to Gairloch and the Sands Caravan and Camping site, another spot overlooking what looks like an idyllic bay. I do hope they get some calm weather so they can enjoy the outdoors, and a bit of outdoor cooking, which I know is something Andy is keen on. From Gairloch they drive the penultimate stretch an 80 mile drive to Kinlochewe. I believe this west coast is particularly beautiful and they should have lots of time to stop on the way and enjoy it's delights.

My blip friend Houseonahill6 lives right up there, and has been giving me useful information that I've passed on to Jon. Thankfully Jon has planned no more than 2 and a half hours distance from one overnight stop to the next, which gives plenty of time for a relaxed daily start, unexpected traffic jams (sheep on the road etc), and time to stop for the views and enjoyment of the trip.

The final day takes them back to Inverness where they swap motorhome for Jon's car, and a drive back to Dunfermline, for a final night together, and the last in Scotland, back in the travelodge. I know that lots of Andy's family will be using the NC500 app, or a regular map (that's what I'm going to do) to follow their route. Hopefully his girls will feel part of this trip if they can see where he is, and what things he has experienced. But of course, there may be no signal and we might all just have to wait to hear the stories when they get back home a week on Wednesday!

Feel proud of these lovely men who all met so many years ago as members of the Borrell Venture Scout Unit in Hoddesdon (our home town) in the early 1980s. In their teens they took on a county wide challenge each year together, called 'The Peak Assault' - I'll dig out photos to share while they are away! In their early 20s they took to spending a week or 2 in Spain (best I don't share those photos!!). Only they know what went on during those trips, but memories were made, and we can mostly guess the rest. Now in their late 50s (& a little bit Martin ;-)) a challenge of a new kind. But that's what friends do, stick together through thick and thin.

I'm so excited for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.