Arachne

By Arachne

I was so exhausted and achey this morning that I decided to leave sorting until later in the week.

But early afternoon I thought I'd just remove the dust sheets and put them in the shed. And maybe get rid of the plastic and paper that have been protecting the floor for months.  

Then, of course, the floor was covered in grit that I didn't want trodden into the wood so I vacuuumed. And saw how filthy the floor was so out came the mop.

With the dust sheets removed and the floor washed it wasn't too hard to slide the sofas back where they belong, but then the table looked untidy so I removed a random dumped heap and put its contents where they belonged. Then another. And another. Until there was enough table visible to make it worthwhile washing.

By which time I thought I might as well do the same to the dining table.

That glazed cupboard doesn't belong there but it's a lot more convenient there than where it was this morning, blocking the hall. I just had to move an unwanted kitchen unit out of its way. I put it near the front door, ready for Freegling.

There was room on the other side of the long sofa to put the plastic box that was in the middle of yesterday's picture and I thought I could disguise it with a cloth. Then I realised that lamp would look great in the corner but... the plastic box was too low. A hunt round the house among the many unopened boxes and I found one the right size (it contains tole light fittings I've been meaning to sell for 3½ years). Too wobbly but I remembered I had a wooden board exactly the right size in the shed to go on top.

By which time I was feeling so pleased with myself I thought I'd have to take a picture. It didn't work - the light bulb was too bright - but my very old paper lampshades were in that glazed cupboard so out came the safe new ladder...

I think I might be exhausted and achey again tomorrow morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.