curns' corner

By curns

Sunset

Up and out early(ish) for a Sunday morning. The 8:45am train to Surbiton and then onward to Portsmouth Harbour. We need to make sure we visit The Island flat at least once a month and, this month, it’s going to be quite difficult. We were originally going to head down for a few days but work commitments need me in the office tomorrow morning. So, we decided that we’d do a day trip. We were on Ryde Pier before noon, checked the flat was okay and pottered around a little. 

Abut 1pm we took a walk along Appley Beach to the Dell Cafe where we ordered lunch (the crab gratin was delicious). I had a couple of glasses of wine. They had no outdoor seats available but sat us inside by the open doors so we were, effectively, outside. I think it worked well. We got to look out on the water across to Portsmouth. It’s very tranquil and a lovely way to spend Sunday afternoon.

After lunch we carried on walking to the nature reserve where we sat in the bird hide watching the wildlife. There was nobody else around and we spent half an hour watching the birds on the water.

We walked back, via the Sainbury’s, to the flat where we sat in the sunshine, that was streaming in through the windows, for a couple of hours (I’ll admit that I fell asleep) before catching the ferry back. As we walked back along the pier I captured this sunset (another to add to the sunset collection I mentioned on Friday). The train journey was mostly uneventful. This pair of train trips allowed me to get into my latest book: Seventy Seven Clocks.

On both the outward and return journey I made a drink using the reusable coffee cup I got for Christmas.  I’d only ever used it on a work commute before so I knew it kept drinks warm enough for an hour. What was interesting today was the discovery that the tea I made for the homeward leg was still hot three hours after I made it.  A very impressive cup-mug-flask.

When we got back, PY had ordered a 2Good2Go bag so we set off to collect that and, as we hoped, it provided some things that we could use for a light dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.