Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

WHAT A LOVELY DAY...

...a Blipmeet, almost a birthday, a celebration, a great mug, a lovely lunch, excellent service, lots of licks, Lindt Choco Wafers,  - so what’s not to like?

We set off quite early this morning to visit our friend, Amanda T so that was the “Blipmeet.”  It was “almost a birthday” because it’s Amanda’s birthday on Thursday, so we wanted her to open her present although it was two days early - and she liked it - but then we know how much she and David, her husband, loved twinkly lights.  You can see Mr. HCB and Amanda trying to sort out the lid of the clam shell, inside which is a twinkly globe that has even more twinkly lights inside and you can see this diagonally opposite, with a few of the Silly Saturday Gang.  We think David would have approved and that was “the celebration” of his life and all he meant to Amanda and also to us.

Before we left to go for the next part of our day, we had coffee and how lovely to be able to drink it in “a great mug” made by another Blip friend - you know who you are and I will be placing my order very soon!! 

We then went off to The Ship - a nearby Premier Inn for our “lovely lunch”.  Amanda and I had wonderful cheese and bacon burger, while Mr. HCB had a humungous steak and ale pie - and you can see from his face that he didn’t want his photograph taken, he just wanted to get on with eating it.  He said it was delicious and Will and Mark, who were working their socks off because they were short of staff, provided “excellent service” - they are above and to the side of Mr. HCB. 

Meanwhile at the bottom left of the collage are a couple of shots of Amanda having“lots of licks” from this dear little Jack Russell puppy, which was only ten weeks old.  I think it’s fair to say it liked Amanda!  She’s very lucky she still has both ears left - and I didn’t even find out its name!

We went back with Amanda - well we sort of had to because she wouldn’t have been able to get home otherwise, and loaded the car with various items for the charity shop, which helped Amanda and I totally forgot to take a selfie of the three of us!  How remiss of me and I even took my selfie stick!  However, I do need to say at this juncture that David would have been most upset because there was no evidence of chocolate.  Amanda told me later that there WAS chocolate but we had refused coffee so it got forgotten - I said we had better save it for when we celebrate David’s birthday in November, and she thought that was a good plan!

We had a good journey back and decided to call into a nearby garage where they have an M & S and I intended buying some scones because we have some clotted cream left over and rather than throw it away......

However, there were none to be had, so I bought some MINCE PIES - what, I hear you cry, “NOT MINCE PIES IN OCTOBER?” Well, given the Best Before date is 21st October, they are obviously intended to be eaten prior to Christmas!  Then when we got to the till, I saw some “Lindt Choco Wafers” and as they were half price, thought that David would approve, so bought them - they were still quite expensive, but sometimes it just has to be done, don’t you agree?

The lovely lady on the bottom row of my collage is the Manager, Maureen, and when I said I remembered her, she said she remembered I was Maureen too, so she encouraged me to buy the Lindt Choco Wafers too and said she was sure I would enjoy them.  Fortunately, Mr. HCB isn’t a great chocolate fan - which is good for me, but not good for losing weight!  

SO, ALL IN ALL, a lovely day - and I think - or rather I know, that Amanda enjoyed it - and guess what - we still have chocolates to look forward to in November!

LOTS of pink around on my Blip today, and you know the drill by now - please click on this LINK so that those who are unable to pay for a mammogram may have one free - and you can click all day, provided you leave 15 minutes between each click.  Thank you everyone and thank you to Amanda and everyone else who made our day so enjoyable  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.