Arachne

By Arachne

In London without plans. I walked through the unnaturally warm October with my mum to her GP for a flu vaccination then, after a ludicrous game of Scrabble where for the first eight or so rounds she had nothing but consonants and I had nothing but vowels, I decided to head through the unnaturally warm October to the Tate Modern for 'Capturing the Moment - a journey through painting and photography'.

There is a lot to say about the relationship between photography and painting and, knowing very little, I am all ears but this exhibition didn't say it. There were some photographs I enjoyed (especially Gursky's monumental pictures - extra) along with a couple of paintings (but not Lucian Freud nor Francis Bacon who I am too uncultured to appreciate) but I don't actually know what the exhibition was trying to say. A frustrating disappointment - I should have read the reviews beforehand rather than on the bus home.

Much more fun was a spontaneous blipmeet with WhiskyFoxtrot where we sat in an October so unnaturally warm that she left her jacket behind and we had to go back to retrieve it. A real treat to catch up with her again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.