curns' corner

By curns

Pumpkins

I joined a standup today, for the first time in  a week.  A journalist from ITV News hosted an internal session about AI which was interesting to see how different teams are using it. There’s such a broad spectrum of things that people reference when they talk about AI: a plane’s autopilot was mentioned and, I think, most people are comfortable with that (and had never occurred to me). 

It’s World Mental Health Day with the promise that mental health is a universal human right. A seminar at work reminded us that the little things can make a big difference and the effects of giving off good vibes can't be underestimated. Later, talked to a colleagueabout how it’s very different from when we started work where, in essence, you left home at home. I think this is a better world but it’s hard to change the mindset of a lifetime. 

It’s the Labour Party conference and Kier Starmer outlined his vision for Britain.  While the speech was light on specific details, it focused on the overarching themes and priorities of the party, notably (at least to me) the concept of ‘National Renewal’ and a pledge to build 1.5 million homes, emphasising the need for a new generation of towns. Investing in infrastructure not killing it off seems a better way forward to me.

In a call with Mum and Dad, I was asked what does RACE CAR spell backwards? How come I’d never noticed that before?  Also, we learned that, after the St. Valentine’s Day Massacre, the Tommy gun gained notoriety with the mob. We also discussed violin cases and if it was used by the Italian mafia.

Later, PY and I went for a walk to buy a few things for lunch tomorrow. While in the Co-op I found a pumpkins for sale - it was a big contrast with messages I’d got from Rashmi throughout the day showing the sheer quantity of pumpkins in the US. Her Halloween is going to be a bit different to mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.