Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Cathedral day

Today I was given a certificate to prove I "climbed the 213 steps of the Tower of Winchester Cathedral".  Yes, not for the first time I took a 'Tower Tour'.  However, last time I did this was about ten years ago and it convinced me I'd never manage to get up there again.  The steps are tiny, narrow, triangular (so you can't easily place your feet on them) and extremely steep. I think I must have got a lot fitter since, I found it relatively easy.

We did get out onto the roof of the bell tower but sadly the weather was grey and misty.  However, the rest of the tour was dark but lovely.  This is inside the bell tower.  Apparently the bells have to go to a foundry in Whitechapel every 100 years to be re-cast.  Last time this happened was in 1932, so they will soon be due again.  I thought they and their beams produced some great angles/shapes for BobsBlips WidWed challenge today.

After the tour ended I went straight to Waterstones (bookshop) to get a book I've been lusting over - The Bone Chests by Cat Jarman.  Viking/Anglo-Saxon history based round the painted chests of royal bones that sit high up on the Cathedral's stone screens in the chantry.  The book is very highly recommended, but I'll give you a proper blipper's report when I've read it ;))

Okay, that's me for today.  Thanks for hosting the challenge, Bob.  And take care all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.