Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Fun in the foam at Mangersta

Despite another terrible night of insomnia (my Garmin tells me that I eventually fell asleep at 4:28am!), I have enjoyed my first full day in Uig on the Isle of Lewis.

This morning we drove down to Mangersta to take a look at the huge waves crashing on to the beach (blipped). More impressive, however, was the amount of foam that the waves generate. Mr hazelh was almost swimming in it at one point (extra).

We met Richard in the café for lunch. Jessie was there too, meeting other older members of the community for their regular Wednesday lunchtime get-together. Jessie worked at Baile-na-Cille when we first came in 1996. She seemed ancient then. We guess that she must be well into her 90s now.

Following a much-needed afternoon snooze, Mr hazelh and I popped out for another walk, this time along the cliffs above Uig Sands to the broch. Then we returned to the house to help Richard move some furniture in the main house.

Tonight we will eat our supper, play Scrabble, and listen to Stereo underground live. I do hope that I can sleep tonight. I feel like I am turning into a zombie.

Exercise today: small amount of walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.