Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Great Black Backed Gull #64

Today we went to Hauxley Nature Reserve where I was hoping to see Red Squirrels, but they were decidedly absent, despite what the guy at reception said! Apparently they have been seen really regularly recently, just not today :(
We clocked up 42 species of birds in a couple of hours including a nice but distant pair of goldeneye, and a field full of curlew, along with 3 types of geese - nothing struck me as being really blippable. 
We went to Amble for a late lunch at the Fish Shack near the pier and then had a wander around the harbour area for a while. The tide was in and there were plenty of birds about - loads of Cormorants, Gulls and Eider Ducks and a few Red-throated divers in winter plumage which I had fun trying to photograph. There was also one razorbill and a couple of guillemots - see extras for a shot of a guillemots bum!
I've been trying this year, wherever possible, to get shots of birds that are actually doing things rather than just my usual "bird on a stick2, or duck sitting in water images. This is obviously much more difficult than a stationery bird and needs way more patience than I often have. Until this gull started flapping about, I was going to post a shot of a diver, but I have already done one earlier in the year, so today's image is, I think, a juvenile Great Black Backed Gull trying to down its dinner. It was quite close :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.