Teasel

By Teasel

River Garry

I was very tired this morning, just worn out.  I was very slow to get going, but saw BB off to school, then had to get myself organised and pack a bag for a weekend away.  TT also had to pack his bag, but he was somewhat more efficient than me.  He had time for a few jobs in the garden, while I was wandering about aimlessly!  I was eventually ready to go, just as BB appeared home from school.  We said our goodbyes, before TT and I headed off.  It was a nice morning and the traffic wasn’t too bad.  We had a smooth journey up to Perth, then up the A9.
 
We stopped for some lunch in Blair Atholl.  It was very nice soup and a toastie, and much more substantial than I had reckoned on.  We walked down to the river, and decided to go for a walk in search of red squirrels, walking down the other side of the River Garry.  We went further than I had planned, walking all the way to Killiecrankie.  At the point where we had planned to turn and re-trace our steps we saw a red squirrel – having a drink from a puddle on the road.  It scarpered when it saw us.  We walked back to the car, glad we had had a walk, as the weather forecast for the weekend is abysmal.  We continued up the A(, before heading over to our destination in the heart of Speyside. 
 
We checked into our hotel and went in search of friends who were in the pub across the road.  After a quick drink, we all headed back to the hotels where we met up with the rest of our happy band of weekenders.  There were fourteen of us in total with six of us staying in the same hotel.   It was lovely to see everyone and we  moved on to dinner.  We all had a lovely evening, lots of chat and catching up over good food.  However, the service was all rather shambolic, especially as we had had to pre-order our choices a couple of weeks ago.
 
We made our way to the whisky bar after dinner.  I was exhausted, so didn’t last long.  I was exhausted and in desperate need of my bed.
 
This is the River Garry at Killiecrankie.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.