Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

The Tyne Theatre and Opera House, Newcastle.

Spent some time on the phone this morning to Paypal.  A few days ago I made my usual monthly PAYG top up for my phone using Paypal.  Paypal acknowledged the transaction in an e mail but the top up didn't show up on my phone.  I waited in case there was a delay in Vodafone claiming the money but this morning there was still no top up.  I managed to find a phone number for Payplan but it was an automated service and none of the options applied to my problem The only way I could speak to a real person was to say I wanted to open a dispute.  Once I got through to Justin he was able to sort things out quickly and easily. But he had no idea why there had been a glitch in the first place.  Because I had reported a problem he put £10 credit into my Paypal account as a gesture of goodwill.  I have since used this £10 to top up my phone - and it worked this time.

Pottered about during the afternoon doing this and that and around 5.15pm I went out to catch a bus to Newcastle.  I was off to The Tyne Theatre and Opera House to see a comedy show.... Foil, Arms and Hog.  They are three Irish comedians who I " discovered " during lockdown on Facebook and Ive been following them ever since.  When I saw they were appearing in Newcastle I jumped at the chance to get a ticket.

The show started at 7.30pm.  It was fast paced --- and mostly unscripted so you had the feeling that anything could happen. And it did. There was a lot of interaction with the audience.  (This always makes me nervous in case I get picked on but I wasn't this evening. )  There were some proper sketches in among the general mayhem  ...... as well as a lot of bread throwing.  The theatre cleaners will have had a lot of extra work this evening.

The show finished around 9.35pm and I had 20 mins to get to the bus station to catch my bus - the bus station is around a mile away and I made it in 15 mins.  Got back home around 10.20pm. 

My blip shot shows a view of Westgate Road - the theatre is the building in the middle of the shot. Its a lovely old theatre with a lot of history.  Ive tagged it for Wide Wednesday - the theme today is angles/shapes.  Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

I've added an Extra collage showing a poster for the Foil Arms and Hog show, a mural which has recently appeared in Newcastle showing Sam Fender - a local singer ... and a selfie I took at the bus stop. 

The weather has been a lot colder today.  I was glad I chose to wear a warm padded coat this evening.

Steps today - 9,695

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.