Musing of a Lady

By inkstainedhands

Cobbler

My dad wanted an extra hole punched into his belt, so we popped past the local cobbler. The cobbler's is the oldest shop in Oudewater. He isn't open every day, but only around 3 or 4 days per week. He fixed the hole in my beloved Doc Martens boots. He did really well, too. He also added a wedge of rubber to the heels where I'd worn them down with use. If you've been following my posts for a while now, you know how much I love my Doc Martens. They're comfortable, hardy boots that go with most of my wardrobe. They're sturdy and have kept my feet dry during the notoriously wet British winters and springs. I own 3 pairs of Docs. Two of them have 8 eyelets (this means they only have 8 lace holes in them) and the third has 14. I only tend to wear 2 of the 3 because they're black leather and aren't white and covered with glitter. The glittery pair were worn on my wedding day, and I'm debating selling them as I can't bear to hang onto the memories that they bring up when I look at them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.