fitzbilly

By fitzbilly

Peace And Love

We've messed a couple of shop people about today, but at least we didn't break any windows. (I did wonder about going in and telling them it was October now).

We'd had to go into Cirencester as I had a dental hygienist appointment. That was OK.

While I was enjoying that mrsfb went to get a new battery for an old watch which we thought would be more elegant to wear on the wedding day, rather than her usual Fitbit. She decided to get a new strap too (black leather) but when I saw it I said I didn't think it worked. She was having second thoughts too. She said the assistant was very nice and helpful and wouldn't mind if we took it back. Wrong! He was rather grumpy about the whole thing, but nevertheless took it off and gave us a refund.

After the dentist I called into a 'gentleman's oufitters' to look for a nice white shirt for the wedding. I explained I was uncertain about the collar size so was measured up and then given the opportunity to try some different sizes on to help me decide. Having made the decision I was offered the shirt - £80. I asked if there was anything less expensive and they did have a budget version for £70. I declined but asked to see some ties and matching handherchief for my suit pocket. They didn't have any sets. Ties started at around £25, and non-matching hankies were around £15. I said I might come back.

I then popped to another shop a bit further along. They had some very nice white shirts, £140 each!

As a last resort I tried one more shop. When I was asked if I needed any help I said I was after a white shirt, preferably less than £80. They didn't have any, but, blow me down, they had a perfect tie and matching hanky set, just the colour I was after, £19.95 the set!

To conclude our visit (after a quick lunch in Diversitea) mrsfb managed to get a gold strap for her watch which was perfect.

So overall a successful day.

I have got a bit behind on blip again, but have been rather busy with camera club stuff, sorting out a few last minute panics. All OK now I think. I was having to send urgent emails over lunch. I haven't had to do that sort of thing since I was working.

One year ago:
Northleach Blipmeet
Wow, was that a whole year ago :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.