pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

And the adventure ramps up

Sorry for those who have seen all the photos on the various WhatsApp groups, but this is for anyone else following this journey - and I know there are many. Lots who don't know Andy, Jon, Martin or me for that matter. Because it includes the lovely blip community, and we rarely get to meet each other. Yet bonds and friendships kind of just grow, by a shared interest in people and their well being. That's how it feels, so this is for all of those people who really care about other people, even though they don't know them!

I was really excited when a short video popped into my feed, showing the canoe pumped up and Jon getting himself ready for a spell on the water. Andy fully kitted out in warm clothes and his 'good' buoyancy aid. Martin doing the filming. They really have made such a good effort to keep us all updated. It is so appreciated. So that was Loch Brora. I don't know if that was before the famous (but I got the feeling underwhelming) John O'Groats stop. Obligatory photo taken, and plans made to head straight down to Lands End after this. Why not just keep setting new goals! As Andy keeps reminding his followers (I call them his fans) on Instagram, that you can always do a little bit more than you think you can - I'm paraphrasing here. He does it much better. In fact he has a famous follower, Kenton Cool, a mountaineer, who is particularly inspired by his journey and has sent him several messages of encouragement.

Anyway, back to their day and to the Walligoe Steps. All 361 of them. Without ropes and harnesses, but with a little bit of help from his friends, he did them. Jon says that equates to 45 flights of his stairs at home....that means he is on his way up Ben Nevis - the final of the 3 peaks. GO ANDY!!

You will have seen a small friend is accompanyingthem on the trip.Named 'The Saviour' by Andy's youngest daughter. I called the boys just before I started my blip. Andy was most definitely on a high after today's exertions. Still raring to go. It was great to chat to him, and he explained the significance of said small furry friend. When he first came round from the brain operation in May, and opened his eyes, everyone's faces were mixed up. The wrong way round was how he described it. What a frightening experience, but after research, they found it was a normal reaction for the brain to see faces in this way until the swelling has subsided. But strangely, there to comfort him, The Saviour's face was the right way round. It made Andy realise he wasn't going mad - hence naming Elyse's Beanie Boo teddy 'The Saviour'. Sorry if I have got any bits of this not quite right, but you get the gist and I can be corrected.

They arrived at the campsite in Melvich early evening and I believe sausages and mash are on tonight's menu. One of Jon's specialities at home. I bet he even has gravy granules. The chips eaten 2 hours previously, forgotten....ah, but I'm not supposed to tell you about those, in case Ange reads this. ;-) Great that the appetite is so big. Even the strong wind and rain will not stop them sleeping well tonight!

Keep going boys - we are all so proud of you!

P.s. I worked half day...then drove to Hoddesdon. That's pretty much it!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.