Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Same Twig : different circs.

More Yew 
for You?
The "visitor" has moved again - BUT - I didn't go to see it; I went to make sure I could relocate the same place.  "We" are still unsure about Yew Flowers - SO - I've just had a look about:-
"Yew is dioecious, meaning that male and female flowers grow on separate trees. These are visible in March and April. Male flowers are insignificant white-yellow globe-like structures. Female flowers are bud-like and scaly, and green when young but becoming brown and acorn-like with age."  Therefore it seems mine's a fairly fecund female.  Having got that out of the way AND found a twig I think I can relocate at will.
       What made this surface, so soon?  We spotted a tiny Yew last Garden centre visit with, it seemed, a tiny bud at every leaf axil, mine isn't as obvious but has tiny "nubbles" in some of the axils - SO - we watch/wait, with interest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.