Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

"Home"?

Or just a stop-over?
Any Bugologists out there, for an ID.  I've seen virtually zero of the rest of the FORTY species.  Who'd a thunk it?  :¬o ?
There are more than 40 species of ladybird considered as resident in Britain, about 20 of these are small (<3 mm) and dark in colour and so often not recognised as ladybirds.
       I know I've seen what, for years, I thought was THE Ladybird and very little else.  I've just whizzed b ack through my meagre 5-6 or so and only found two "non-standard" varieties:-
1. "During Alice".
2. "Post Alice".
AND NOW - number three.  Last time I, tentatively, ID-ed it as 16-spot - huge BUT - A Map of distribution shows virtually NIL North of Lancaster.
       AND NOW:-
Could it be a:- 
"Look out for the Harlequin ladybird in your garden this year, these garden pests are slowly moving northwards." ?!?
OUCH!?!?! 
To slay, or not to slay, THAT is the question.  It's perched there now, on two, alternate nights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.