Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Home again!

We left the guest house to drive to Venice airport at 5.25am this morning. We were so lucky with the weather this week, it has been sunny and warm all week but today it was raining and we even had storms with lightning on our drive to Venice. It has turned colder in Slovenia and they even had their first snowfall on the Julian Alps today. Gavin said at home it also was cold with a frost this morning.

Venice airport was chaotic, we had to wait half an hour before the check in desk opened to accept our bags - we had already checked in online. Then we queued for a full hour to get through security. Thankfully we had enough time to do all this. The airport was full of Americans who I presume had just disembarked the cruise ships, so it was very busy with long queues for everything. I received a pleasant surprise when dropping off my bags as they told me I had been upgraded to Business Class. Not that it is worth it on a short flight, but it was a nice gesture from British Airways. I did not eat on the plane as I knew that Gavin was cooking me lunch, so I did not really get to enjoy Business Class.

Gavin very kindly fetched me from the airport and cooked lunch. It was really good to eat a home cooked meal again! I only got home at about 3pm so it was a late lunch.

Shortly after lunch two of Tommy's friends arrived to watch the rugby match with him (England vs Fiji). They were starving so I made them a baked tuna pasta dish, which they enjoyed. This is Xena in the kitchen, she absolutely loves cheese, she will wake from the deepest sleep when I get the cheese out the fridge as she immediately can smell it. When I was making the pasta dish she was hoping to get some cheese falling down...she did get some!

I have unpacked, done one load of washing, and I cannot do much more as my brain feels fogged up with tiredness. I will most definitely be having an early night tonight, and will only start editing my photos tomorrow.

Thank you so much for all the kind comments and hearts on my Slovenia images, I had no time to look at journals so I am grateful for your continued interest when I have been a bad blip mate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.