WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

The Glasidale Horror

Not that I knew it was called that before I rode it.  I did know it was hard and made sure I wasn't cycling this route yesterday in the knowledge that I may not get up it and it might just mar my celebrations!  

*** Thank you for your wonderful kindness on my BlipDay special! ***

Today was shorter and I found an easier road to get out of Rosedale than the steep one to reach my photo point. I then headed north again but on a different finger of land to yesterday, down to Glaisdale.

I passed the road that I'd be coming back up and it did seem to disappear off a precipice but I thought it best not to dwell. With barely a breeze today, it was more comfortable enjoying the views which were spectacular - so I focused on the moment instead of what was to come.  

In not too much time, I was heading back up beautiful Glasidale and it wasn't long before I could see the back wall of the valley - and the thin piece of tarmac making a seemingly straight line directly up it. Hmmm, this could be fun! I spent the next few minutes visualising the easiest way to come to a rapid vertical halt without falling off! 

I gave myself a little bit of encouragement as I neared the bottom and gave it a go. I've since read that people debate whether it's harder than nearby Rosedale Chimney Bank. For me, yes! It's not as steep (quite) but it really goes on with little let up - I find that hard. The tarmac isn't great, there's a thick line of grass running up the centre of the road and a cattle grid right where you don't want one.

However, I realised that I was making progress and my legs were feeling committed. Every so often there were a few metres where the gradient would back off ever so slightly and I took those opportunities to come to a near stand still and steady my heart beats every so slightly too. Just when I thought I might need to consider the rapid exit from my clipped in feet, it started to ease. And there I was, nearing the top, enjoying the 22 degree halo off to one side.

I returned on the same road as yesterday, stopping here at the top of the steep descent back into Rosedale. There was actually some warmth in the air here so I made the most of hanging around for a while, faffing about trying to fit the halo into my photo.

Back at the van it was time to sort out and head for the east coast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.