Kanylkloride

By Martigan

Memories flooded.

I heard a Traffic report this a.m, which mentioned Penrith and some area I now forget, may have been "Kemplay".
       However "It'll not affect me, I don't intend being out today." - WRONG. I shopped yesterday for two items with NO list.  I came away with about six, all the while thinking -"What the !@£$%^& was that other thing?"  I got home, saw some "dirty" old coins and remembered seeing distilled malt Vinegar for coin cleaning.
       Today I did get over the doorstep first visit - Chemists, having been prescribes some "Calcium antagonists" thence to get the Vinegar; and this time came away with two items.  I was unfortunate enough to see a Bottle of "Black Garlic Mayo" so it left with me.
       My route took me, fortunately, "upstream" against the sluggish flow; I cut, easily, through them and parked on the double yellows opposite Chemist (Score one for the "Blue Badge" scheme) 
       Good fortune, my route was, again, "upstream" and round to Sainsbury's.  This Queue was there when I joined the main drag, and as I went North I could see it extended into the "Narrows".  It called to mind two pre-M6 events.
       One was recounted by Bro. - back in the mists of time a friend of his was on a Traffic survey. NO doubt he'll correct me, but I think he said something in the order of 120 heavy wagons passed in one hour, heading North; NOT counting the Cars, etc.
       Second was a trip of mine, when "Courting" over in Yorkshire.  Bus to Carlisle, Bus to Kendal, Bus to Yorkshire.  On the day in Question our Bus joined a queue @ a snail's pace just about the top of Shap, heading South; according to a well-known route finder a distance of 14.3 miles and ≈ 25mins from Kendal.  Hours(?) later we arrived in Kendal; my long-time senile memory has not retained whether I caught the connection, or hitched.  At the time I was ≈ 20 and reckoned it would have been faster to have left the Bus, walked, and beaten it to Kendal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.